Ad Spot

September 24, 2021

Candidate total rises to 24 for November municipal elections

By Natalie Anderson

SALISBURY — Since filing began Friday, a total of 17 incumbents and seven challengers have filed for the 2021 November municipal elections.

Seats are open for the November election in each of the county’s municipalities, with candidates filing in all but the Landis and Granite Quarry races as of Wednesday.

Filing runs until noon on July 16, with July 13 being the final date to withdraw candidacy.

In Salisbury, Mayor Karen Alexander remains the only incumbent to file for re-election in the mayoral race. None of the other sitting council members have filed for the mayoral race or re-election to one of the four open seats. Jonathan Barbee, a Rowan-Salisbury Schools Board of Education candidate in the 2020 election, remains the only candidate for the city council race.

Both East Spencer Mayor Barbara Mallett and incumbent alderman Albert Smith filed for re-election Tuesday. Rowan County Democratic Party Second Vice Chair Shawn Rush remains the only challenger for the three open seats on the board.

China Grove council member Arthur Heggins on Wednesday filed for re-election to one of the three open seats this year.

A crowded race is stacking up in Kannapolis. While Mayor Darrell Hinnant is still unopposed for another term as mayor, there are a number of council candidates. Incumbents Van Rowell, Dianne Berry and Doug Wilson have filed for re-election, but the field of challengers already includes Jayne Williams, Milton Smith, Jeanne Dixon and Chris Gordon. Dixon joined the race Tuesday, Gordon joined Wednesday and the others filed last week.

In Cleveland, there are three open seats on the board, and all three incumbents have filed for re-election. Commissioner Richard Taylor filed Tuesday before incumbents Bryan Little and Gerald Osborne officially joined the race Wednesday. Cleveland will also have a mayoral race, but neither Mayor Mayor Patrick Phifer nor a challenger has filed.

In Faith, Brian Campbell is the only candidate who has filed for re-election to one of the five open seats on its board.

In Rockwell, there are also five open seats. To date, Justin Crews is the only incumbent who has filed for re-election. Mayor Pro Tem Chris Cranford and board members Chuck Bowman, Stephenie Walker and Lizz Johnson hold the other seats set to expire in December, and all won re-election in 2019 without any competition. On Wednesday, however, challenger Dillon Brewer joined the race.

Spencer Mayor Jonathan Williams and incumbent alderman Steve Miller filed for re-election Tuesday. Mayor Pro Tem Patti Seacrest filed on Wednesday for re-election to one of the six seats on the ballot. Board member Patricia Sledge, another incumbent, is also in the race after filing last week.

Contact reporter Natalie Anderson at 704-797-4246.



Rowan County’s COVID-19 death toll tops 40 for September


Catawba-Wingate football game canceled


Blotter: Sept. 24


Crowd turns out to raise money for hospitalized sheriff’s deputy


COVID-19 death tally continues rising, now at 391 in Rowan County


‘No winners’: Mason found guilty in fish arcade murder trial


Dixonville task force working to engrave names, quotes at cemetery


Stage set for COVID-19 booster shots


Family finds unknown woman’s body in mother’s casket


A third of workers in Cooper order not vaccinated


Remains of WWII soldier from North Carolina identified, will be buried in Robeson County

High School

State officials reach deal on prep sports governing, but details remain to be worked out


Mason found guilty in deadly fish arcade shooting


Blotter: Men stripped, robbed en route to buy beer


Jury begins deliberations in Fishzilla murder case


East Rowan culinary students feed staff who helped build new classroom

Local Events

Rowan County Fair makes pandemic return Friday with COVID-19 protocols in place


Education briefs: Schultz selected to NCDPI’s Teacher Leadership Council


Catawba to induct six into Blue Masque Hall of Fame


Cavs After Hours: A new tutoring space at North Rowan




Salisbury Police: Toyota Prius is most popular target for catalytic converter thieves


Salisbury City Council will vote on whether to exempt Goodwill developer from setback requirements


Rowan Sheriff’s Office holding fundraiser for deputy hospitalized with COVID-19